Records round-up: June 14th – June 20th


This is the first instalment of The Edge’s new weekly records round-up, where we construct a small collection of this week’s album and single releases. Amongst this week is Lana Del Rey’s Ultraviolence and 5 Seconds of Summer’s follow-up to their number one single, ‘She Looks So Perfect’.




Lana Del Rey – Ultraviolence

Lana-Del-Rey-Ultraviolence-Deluxe-2014-1200x1200The biggest upcoming album release this Monday is undoubtedly Del Rey’s new studio album, Ultraviolence, a follow-up to her number one album Born to Die. Del Rey has slowly been releasing some tracks from the album, following in the footsteps of Justin Bieber and Lady Gaga who have also used this marketing technique, which has furthered the heated excitement that is surrounding the album. So far, we have heard the lead single, ‘West Coast’, as well as ‘Shades of Cool’, ‘Brooklyn Baby’ and the title track, ‘Ultraviolence’. Critic reviews have began to seep through, with the majority positive and hovering around the four out of five star mark. Listen to ‘West Coast’ below to prepare yourself for what looks like an incredible album.
Release date: 16th June 2014.

Jennifer Lopez – A.K.A.

Jennifer-Lopez-A.K.A.-2014-1500x1500An album that seems to have had a lack of promotion here in the UK, it is unlikely it is going to chart as well as Lopez’s previous album Love? which debuted in the top 10 in the UK back in 2011. To be released on Monday, A.K.A. is Lopez’s eighth studio album and features the singles ‘I Luh Ya Papi’ and ‘First Love’. The singles, which haven’t charted in the UK, have not followed the same trend as the singles from the previous album, which featured the commercial hits ‘On the Floor’ and ‘I’m Into You’. Therefore, the fate of this new album could be interesting. Listen to ‘I Luh Ya Papi’ below.
Release date: 16th June 2014.

Deadmau5 – while(1<2)

COVER_ART_PNGThe house musician will release his sixth studio album in a matter of days, entitled while(1<2). The album will be a follow-up to the producer’s 2012 album, Album Title Goes Here, which saw his first ever album enter the top 10 in the UK charts. Singles from the album that are available to buy now are ‘Avaritia’, ‘Infra Turbo Pigcart Racer’ and ‘Phantoms Can’t Hang’. Listen to the former below.
Release date: 17th June 2014.


Gorgon City – ‘Here For You’ feat. Laura Welsh

The first of the biggest singles to be released tomorrow is Gorgon City’s ‘Here For You’ which is a follow-up from their hit single ‘Ready for Your Love’ (featuring MNEK) and will be taken from their upcoming untitled debut album. The dance track is likely to be a chart hit with the dance genre currently saturating UK charts. Listen to the song below.
Release date: 15th June 2014.

5 Seconds of Summer – ‘Don’t Stop’

The new single from the Australian pop-rock band follows their number one single, ‘She Looks So Perfect’. The new track, entitled ‘Don’t Stop’, will be taken from the band’s upcoming self-titled debut album, with a UK release date of 30th June 2014. This week, the band took home the award for Best International Newcomer at the Kerrang! Awards, despite the argument that the band is very much more pop than they are rock. Decide for yourselves by listening to the track below.
Release date: 15th June 2014.

Demi Lovato – ‘Neon Lights’

‘Neon Lights’ is the third single from Demi Lovato’s 2013 album, Demi. The album, which debuted at number 10 last year on the UK charts, was Lovato’s fourth studio album and has also featured other singles ‘Heart Attack’ and ‘Made in the USA’. Lovato, as well featuring on the soundtrack of the box-office hit Frozen, has also recently revealed another new single from the album entitled ‘Really Don’t Care’ which features the UK’s famous/infamous Cher Lloyd.
Release date: 15th June 2014.


About Author

Film & English student, Deputy Editor of The Edge and President of FilmSoc. Likes FKA twigs, BANKS and other capitalised artists.

Leave A Reply