Black Sabbath Reuniting for Album and Tour


It is official: the original lineup of legendary English heavy metal band Black Sabbath are reuniting in 2012, with a brand new studio album and worldwide tour confirmed!

After announcing a press conference for Friday November 11th, Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Tony Iommi (guitar), Geezer Butler (bass) and Bill Ward (drums) are officially reuniting for a brand new studio album and a worldwide tour, including a headline slot at the 2012 Download Festival. The album, to be released at an as-yet unconfirmed time next year, will be helmed by legendary rock producer Rick Rubin, and will be the first studio release by the original lineup since 1978’s Never Say Die!.

Speaking about the reunion, Osbourne noted that “It was time”, with Iommi confirming that “The timing was right”. Osbourne labelled Rubin “the obvious choice” for the producer of the album, and revealed that “seven or eight songs” had already been written for the album, which Butler explained were “back to the old Sabbath style and sound”.

Sabbath will also be closing next year’s Download on June 10th, joining Metallica as the first confirmed acts of the festival. They will also be embarking on a worldwide tour at some point, with details currently undisclosed. With two of the biggest-selling and most influential metal bands of all-time on the bill already, the tenth anniversary of Download is shaping up to be one of the greatest metal festivals ever.


About Author

Leave A Reply