International Songwriting Competition announces 2015 judging panel


The annual International Songwriting Competition has announced it’s judging panel for 2015.

Described as “the songwriting competition to take note of” by The New York Times, The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has collated a judging panel that includes many iconic, high-profile recording artists, as well as Presidents and CEOs from labels such as Atlantic, Epic, Elektra, Sony Music Latin and Warner Bros.

Some of the most notable artists from this year’s judging panel include Lorde, Ke$ha, Aviicii, Tom Waits, Boyz II Men, Keane, Moby and Bastille – who won one of the top prizes for their song ‘Flaws’ back in 2013.

Designed to nurture the musical talent of songwriters on all levels and promote excellence in the art of songwriting, ISC offers the opportunity for songwriters to have their music heard by some of the most influential decision-makers in the industry. The competition also gives away more than $150,000 in cash and prizes, including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $25,000 (US) cash and $30,000 in merchandise and services. In addition to prizes, winners gain recognition, press, kudos, and more career opportunities. The competition is open to both amateur and professional songwriters, with a total of 22 categories to enter in, representing all genres of popular music.

Last year’s Grand Prize winner was Australian singer/songwriter, Vance Joy – who was honoured for his memorable hit song, ‘Riptide’. Other previous winners include Gotye, Lindsey Stirling, Kimbra and Passenger.

To find out more about this year’s judges, as well as how to enter the competition yourself, visit the ISC website.

Listen to Vance Joy’s award-winning song, ‘Riptide’, below.


About Author

Editor [2016 - 2017], News Editor [2015 - 2016]. Current record holder for most ever articles written by a single Edgeling. Also Film & English Student and TV Editor for The National Student. Main loves include cats, actors and pasta.

Leave A Reply