Dr Dre announces third studio album, Compton


After 16 years of waiting, Dr Dre fans can finally rejoice, as the music mogul has announced a third studio album.

Entitled Compton: A Soundtrack, and inspired by the upcoming NWA biopic, the LP will feature the likes of Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Xzbit, Snoop Dogg and Anderson Paak. Dr Dre took to the Beats 1 radio show to announce that not only will he be releasing an entirely new album, but that it is also set for an August release.

Previously only having produced two solo albums to date, fans may have hoped to listen to the now legendary Detox album –  a record that has been in the works since 1999. However, Dre has stated that Detox will never be released despite the years of work, simply because “It wasn’t good… I didn’t like it.”

The tracklisting for the new album is as follows:

  1. ‘Intro’
  2. ‘Talk About It’ [ft. King Mez & Justus]

    Above: The album artwork

  3. ‘Genocide’ [ft. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay]
  4. ‘It’s All on Me’ [ft. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid]
  5. ‘All in a Day’s Work’ [ft. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius]
  6. ‘Darkside/Gone’ [ft. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar]
  7. ‘Loose Cannons’ [ft. Xzibit & COLD 187um]
  8. ‘Issues’ [ft. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak]
  9. ‘Deep Water’ [ft. Kendrick Lamar & Justus]
  10. ‘One Shot One Kill’ [ft. Snoop Dogg]
  11. ‘Just Another Day’ [ft. Asia Bryant]
  12. ‘For the Love of Money’ [ft. Jill Scott & Jon Connor]
  13. ‘Satisfaction’ [ft. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez]
  14. ‘Animals’ [ft. Anderson Paak]
  15. ‘Medicine Mane’ [ft. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak]
  16. ‘Talking to My Diary’

Dr. Dre has already been well established as a legacy within the industry. From creating the NWA – a group that will no doubt have it’s influences shown (and probably embellished) in the upcoming film – to crafting the careers of everyone appearing on his new album.

He is also the main businessman behind headphone company, Beats. This start-up quickly controlled the high-end consumer market for audio, and was bought within six years of it’s creation to Apple, for the ‘small’ amount of $3.2 billion dollars.

Compton: A Soundtrack is set to be released on 7th August.


About Author

I like sitting by the fire, long walks on the beach, and sunsets. I am also fond of Pina Coladas and getting caught in the rain, but I would like to add that I am not into yoga.

Leave A Reply