Sam Smith to re-release debut album, In The Lonely Hour


Sam Smith has announced that he will re-release an extended edition of his chart-topping debut album, In The Lonely Hour, featuring new tracks, covers and collaborations.

Entitled In The Lonely Hour: The Drowning Shadows Edition, Smith calls this his “final bow” to his debut record before he moves onto a second album.  He has also described this album as “a present, directly from me to my fans” for their continuing support.

The extended album contains covers of tracks by Amy Winehouse and Whitney Houston, as well as collaborations with Mary J. Blige, A$AP Rocky, John Legend and Smith’s long-time friends and working partners, Disclosure. A new song ‘Drowning Shadows’ will also feature on the re-release.

Smith announced the new album after his current single ‘Writing’s On The Wall’ became the first James Bond theme to reach the number one spot in the UK singles chart. Response to the single has been mixed, with some labelling it as an orchestral masterpiece and others disappointed following the success of Adele’s ‘Skyfall’.

The music video for ‘Writing’s On The Wall’ is set to be released tomorrow on Monday 5th October. Listen to one of the most successful tracks from Smith’s first album – ‘Stay With Me’ – in the video below.


About Author

Third year Film student, Head of External Relations for The Edge and Vice President of FilmSoc. I love tea and I also love Disney. A lot.

Leave A Reply