John Boyega and Brie Larson lead nominations for EE BAFTA Rising Star Award


Star Wars: The Force Awakens‘ John Boyega and Room‘s Brie Larson, are among the nominees in the running for this year’s Rising Star BAFTA award.

Following the release of The Force Awakens last month, Boyega’s popularity has grown immensely since his debut film role as Moses in the 2011 sci-fi comedy, Attack The Block. Meanwhile Larson, whose acting credits include roles in 21 Jump Street and Trainwreck, has got critics anticipating an Oscar nod for her harrowing performance in Room.

The nominations shortlist also includes names such as Taron Egerton, who charmed us all with his breakout performance as Eggsy in Kingsman: The Secret Service, as well as Fifty Shades of Grey‘s Dakota Johnson and Diary of a Teenage Girl star, Bel Powley.

The EE Rising Star Award is BAFTA’s way of collaborating with the public to honour the greatest emerging stars of the year. The award was first introduced in 2006, with its first recipient being James McAvoy, who has since gone on to be regarded as one of Britain’s best actors.

The most recent Rising Star recipient was Jack O’Connell in 2015, whose performances in ‘71 and Unbroken won the public vote. Previous Rising Star winners also include Eva Green, Noel Clarke, Kristen Stewart, Tom Hardy and Will Poulter.

Voting will open tomorrow (Wednesday 6th January) at 10:30 am on the EE BAFTA website. Meanwhile, the full list of BAFTA Nominations will be announced this Friday (8th January).


About Author

Film and English student. Lover of YA novels, Netflixing, fluffy blankets, all things Musical Theatre and modern Shakespeare adaptations. Life goals include writing a novel and being best friends with Emma Stone. Deputy Editor 2017/18 - or so they tell me.


    • You have to think that she’s only there because of the great success of 50 Shades, but she’s got charisma and comedy chops – her small part in 21 Jump Street is v memorable.

      The other four are TOP NOTCH choices. I voted for Brie Larson because she should have been nominated in 2014 following Short Term 12 (and Boyega should have been nominated in 2012 following Attack The Block) but Boyega will TOTALLY win it, and I’m okay with that.

Leave A Reply