MTV Video Music Awards 2016 nominations announced in full


The MTV Video Music Awards have come round once again, with a multitude of different artists nominated for a multitude of different videos.

This year, Beyoncé leads the nominations as a heavy favourite, with Adele and Ariana Grande closely following in terms of having the most nominations. ‘Hello’ and ‘Hotline Bling’ by Adele and Drake respectively both appear in good position to pick up awards, having both been nominated for at least three categories, including ‘Video of the Year.’

Here’s the full list of nominations:

Video of the Year:

Adele – ‘Hello’
Beyoncé – ‘Formation’
Drake – ‘Hotline Bling’
Justin Bieber – ‘Sorry’
Kanye West – ‘Famous’

Best Female Video

Adele – ‘Hello’
Beyoncé – ‘Hold Up’
Sia – ‘Cheap Thrills’
Ariana Grande – ‘Into You’
Rihanna ft. Drake – ‘Work’

Best Male Video

Drake – ‘Hotline Bling’
Bryson Tiller – ‘Don’t’
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – ‘This Is What You Came For’
Kanye West – ‘Famous’
The Weeknd – ‘Can’t Feel My Face’

Best Collaboration

Beyoncé ft. Kendrick Lamar – ‘Freedom’
Fifth Harmony ft. Dolla $ign – ‘Work From Home’
Ariana Grande ft. Lil Wayne – ‘Let Me Love You’
Calvin Harris ft Rihanna – ‘This Is What You Came For’
Rihanna ft. Drake – ‘Work’

Best Hip Hop Video

Drake – ‘Hotline Bling’
Desiigner – ‘Panda’
Bryson Tiller – ‘Don’t’
Chance The Rapper ft. Saba – ‘Angels’
2 Chainz – ‘Watch Out’

Best Pop Video

Adele – ‘Hello’
Beyoncé – ‘Formation’
Justin Bieber – ‘Sorry’
Alessia Cara – ‘Wild Things’
Ariana Grande – ‘Into You’

Best Rock Video

All Time Low – ‘Missing You’
Coldplay – ‘Adventure Of A Lifetime’
Fall Out Boy ft. Demi Lovato – ‘Irresistible’
Twenty One pilots – ‘Heathens’
Panic! At The Disco – ‘Victorious’

Best Electronic Video

Calvin Harris and Disciples – ‘How Deep Is Your Love’
99 Souls ft Destiny’s Child and Brandy – ‘The Girl Is Mine’
Mike Posner – ‘I Took A Pill In Ibiza’
Afrojack – ‘SummerThing!’
The Chainsmokers ft. Daya – ‘Don’t Let Me Down’

Breakthrough Long Form Video

Florence + The Machine – The Odyssey
Beyoncé – Lemonade
Chris Brown – Royalty
Troye Sivan – Blue Neighbourhood Trilogy

Best New Artist

Bryson Tiller
Zara Larsson
Lukas Graham

Best Art Direction

Beyoncé – ‘Hold Up’
Fergie – ‘M.I.L.F.$’
Drake – ‘Hotline Bling’
David Bowie – ‘Blackstar’
Adele – ‘Hello’

Best Choreography

Beyoncé – ‘Formation’ (Chris Grant – JaQuel Knight – and Dana Foglia)
Missy Elliott ft Pharrell – ‘WTF (Where They From)’ (Hi-Hat)
Beyoncé – ‘Sorry’ (Chris Grant – JaQuel Knight – Dana Foglia – Anthony Burrell – and Beyoncé Knowles Carter)
FKA Twigs – ‘M3LL155X’ (FKA Twigs)
Florence + The Machine – ‘Delilah’ (Holly Blakey)

Best Direction

Beyonce – ‘Formation’ (Melina Matsoukas)
Coldplay – ‘Up&Up’ (Vania Heymann and Gal Muggia)
Adele – ‘Hello’ (Xavier Dolan)
David Bowie – ‘Lazarus’ (Johan Renck)
Tame Impala – ‘The Less I Know The Better’ (Canada)

Best Cinematography

Beyonce – ‘Formation’ (Malik Sayeed)
Adele – ‘Hello’ (André Turpin)
David Bowie – ‘Lazarus’ (Crille Forsberg)
Alesso – ‘I Wanna Know’ (Corey Jennings)
Ariana Grande – ‘Into You’ (Paul Laufer)

Best Editing

Beyonce – ‘Formation’ (Jeff Selis)
Adele – ‘Hello’ (Xavier Dolan)
Fergie – ‘M.I.L.F.$’ (Vinnie Hobbs)
David Bowie – ‘Lazarus’ (Johan Söderberg)
Ariana Grande – ‘Into You’ (Hannah Lux Davis)

Best Visual Effects

Coldplay – ‘Up&Up’ (Vania Heymann – Gloria FX and VFX House)
FKA Twigs – ‘M3LL155X’ (Lewis Saunders and Jihoon Yoo)
Adele – ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’ (Sam Sneade)
The Weeknd – ‘Can’t Feel My Face’ (Brewster Parsons and Bryan Smaller)
Zayn – ‘PILLOWTALK’ (Studio Private – David Smith)

Airing live from New York’s Madision Square Garden, the 2016 MTV Music Awards take place on 28th August. Watch a video summarising the nominations, and favourites below:


About Author

Third year Film and English student living in D.C., self-proclaimed go-to Edge expert on Cloverfield, Fall Out Boy, and Jake Gyllenhaal. Loves mostly those three things.

Leave A Reply