The xx release new track ‘On Hold’ from upcoming album – Listen


London trio, The xx have shared a new track, alongside details of their forthcoming new record.

After releasing teasers of their new material, the group – comprised of Jamie xx, Romy Madley Croft, and Oliver Sim – have officially unveiled ‘On Hold’ which will feature on their new album I See You. 

The track is more upbeat than previous heartfelt and moody releases: xx, their debut which hit the shelves back in 2009, and Coexist their 2012 sophomore LP. ‘On Hold’ sees the band incorporate ‘I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)’, the 1981 hit from Hall and Oates to their slick vocals, and In Colour-esque tones, a clear nod to the influence of band member Jamie xx’s solo work.

The ten-song album will be available 13th January of the coming year, and will mark a new era from the band as they experiment with new sounds and processes. Their previous two albums were recorded in their hometown London, however with I See You the trio also branched out to New York, Marfa TX, Reykjavik and Los Angeles.

‘On Hold’ is available to stream or download here.  Listen to the new track below.


About Author

English and Spanish undergrad, recent year abroader and aspiring vegan, blogging as hennacomoeltatuaje

Leave A Reply