La La Land wins big at Baftas 2017


La La Land swept the 2017 BAFTA awards, winning five awards including Best Actress and Best Film.

Dev Patel picked up the award for Best Supporting Actor for his role in Lion, while Ken Loach’s I, Daniel Blake received the coveted honour of Outstanding British Film. Manchester by the Sea earned Casey Affleck Best Actor, while also scooping the award for Best Original Screenplay. The EE Rising Star Award- the only one which goes to public vote- went to Spiderman and Captain America: Civil War star Tom Holland.

But the undisputedly champions of the evening was La La Land, winning Best Film with director Damien Chazelle picking up Best Director for his role in the musical and female lead Emma Stone picking up Best Actress for her role. It also won Best Cinematography and Best Original Music.

The full list of winners of the 2017 BAFTAs are below:

Best film

La La Land


I, Daniel Blake

Manchester by the Sea


Outstanding British film

I, Daniel Blake

American Honey


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Notes on Blindness

Under the Shadow


Damien Chazelle – La La Land

Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals

Ken Loach – I, Daniel Blake

Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea

Denis Villeneuve – Arrival

Leading actress

Emma Stone – La La Land

Amy Adams – Arrival

Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train

Natalie Portman – Jackie

Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins

Leading actor

Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge

Ryan Gosling – La La Land

Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals

Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic

Supporting actress

Viola Davis – Fences

Naomie Harris – Moonlight

Nicole Kidman – Lion

Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake

Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

Supporting actor

Dev Patel – Lion

Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water

Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins

Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals

Original screenplay

Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan

Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan

I, Daniel Blake – Paul Laverty

La La Land – Damien Chazelle

Moonlight – Barry Jenkins

Adapted screenplay

Lion – Luke Davies

Arrival – Eric Heisserer

Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Schenkkan, Andrew Knight

Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi, Allison Schroeder

Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

Under the Shadow – Babak Anvari (writer/director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (producers)

The Girl with All the Gifts – Mike Carey (writer), Camille Gatin (producer)

The Hard Stop – George Amponsah (writer/director/producer), Dionne Walker (writer/producer)

Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton (writer/director/producer), James Spinney (writer/director), Jo-Jo Ellison (producer)

The Pass – John Donnelly (writer), Ben A William (director)

Film not in the English language

Son of Saul – Laszlo Nemes, Gabor Sipos

Dheepan – Jacques Audiard, Pascal Caucheteux

Julieta – Pedro Almodovar

Mustang – Deniz Gamze Erguven, Charles Gillibert

Toni Erdmann – Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski



The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years

The Eagle Huntress

Notes on Blindness


Animated film

Kubo and the Two Strings

Finding Dory



Original music

La La Land – Justin Hurwitz

Arrival – Johann Johannsson

Jackie – Mica Levi

Lion – Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka

Nocturnal Animals – Abel Korzeniowski


La La Land – Linus Sandgren

Arrival – Bradford Young

Hell or High Water – Giles Nuttgens

Lion – Greig Fraser

Nocturnal Animals – Seamus McGarvey


Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert

Arrival – Joe Walker

La La Land – Tom Cross

Manchester by the Sea – Jennifer Lame

Nocturnal Animals – Joan Sobel

Production design

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock

Doctor Strange – John Bush, Charles Wood

Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh

La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco

Nocturnal Animals – Shane Valentino, Meg Everist

Costume design

Jackie – Madeline Fontaine

Allied – Joanna Johnston

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood

Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle

La La Land – Mary Zophres

Make-up and hair

Florence Foster Jenkins – J Roy Helland, Daniel Phillips

Doctor Strange – Jeremy Woodhead

Hacksaw Ridge – Shane Thomas

Nocturnal Animals – Donald Mowat, Yolanda Toussieng

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Nominees to be confirmed


Arrival – Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariepy Strobl, Sylvain Bellemare

Deepwater Horizon – Mike Prestwood Smith, Dror Mohar, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp

Hacksaw Ridge – Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright

La La Land – Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A Morrow, Andy Nelson

Special visual effects

The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez

Arrival – Louis Morin

Doctor Strange – Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Sumner

British short animation

A Love Story – Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King

The Alan Dimension – Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle, Millie Marsh

Tough – Jennifer Zheng

British short film

Home – Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell

Consumed – Richard John Seymour

Mouth of Hell – Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith, Michael Wilson

The Party – Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin, Conor MacNeill

Standby – Charlotte Regan, Jack Hannon

EE Rising Star award (voted for by the public)

Tom Holland

Laia Costa

Lucas Hedges

Ruth Negga

Anya Taylor-Joy

Check out the moment La La Land won Best Film below:


About Author

Lover of food, films, Marvel, football, video-games and Literature. Hater of pretty much everything else. Fortunately, we cover 4 of those things. NEWS EDITOR 2016 AND ALL THE SHINY STUFF WITH THAT. BACK AGAIN FOR 2017!

Leave A Reply