This Week in Records


The most exciting release this week is the fourth studio album from The Maccabees, Marks To Prove It, following the long wait since 2012’s Given To The Wild. We also have The Strokes’ Albert Hammond Jr’s third solo studio album, Momentary Masters and the latest track from Beck’s upcoming album.

The fourth album from The Maccabees takes the band to a new higher level, with the title track of Marks To Prove It standing out with its energetic and frenetic pace, along with its obvious comparisons to the infectious ‘Pelican’ from 2011. The rest of the record is slightly slower in tempo, but keeps up the high quality – with ‘Spit it Out’ being another belter. No sign of let up from the Londoners. Out Friday 31st July via Fiction.

The guitarist of The Strokes, Albert Hammond Jr’s third solo studio album Momentary Masters has definite traits of the band he made himself famous with – the familiar striking guitar and sharp rhythms, found especially in best song ‘Razors Edge’, emphasise this resoundingly. Out Friday 31st July via Vagrant.

Blood is the second studio album from Lianne La Havas. Dropping into the genre of neo-soul and already being dubbed “poetic” by The TelegraphBlood is set to enticingly cover different styles. The most recent track to spring from it is the jaunty ‘What You Don’t Do’, which showcases Havas’ strong vocals. Out Friday 31st July via Warner Bros.

‘Dreams’ is the latest track from American singer-songwriter Beck’s upcoming album, the follow up to 2014’s Grammy winning Morning Phase. ‘Dreams’ bubbles with energy, heightened by its catchy chorus. Beck comments that it started out as a “heavy rock garage thing” before finding its summery outcome. Out Friday 31st July via Fonograph Records.

The lead single from Hampshire-born Frank Turner’s upcoming fourth LP, Positive Songs For Negative People, is ‘The Next Storm’. The album’s release date has been confirmed for Friday 6th August, and this track combines a jaunty pace with Turner’s statement vocals for an uplifting effect. Out Friday 31st July via Polydor.

‘Fire Meet Gasoline’ is the fourth single to spring from Sia’s 2014 album, 1000 Forms Of Fear. With Sia’s consistently beautiful vocals as the focal point, the track is pretty stripped down when compared to ‘Elastic Heart’ and ‘Chandelier’, gently growing to the chorus with soft instrumentation. Out Friday 31st July via RCA.


About Author

Muse-worshiping, F1-career-aiming Aeronautics student.

Third year English student, Records Editor, list maker and lover of Kinder Buenos.

Leave A Reply