This Week in Records


This week we have the release of the album that everyone has been waiting for probably since Adele’s last release of 21. Third album 25 will finally be released this week, along with the latest from Everything Everything’s Get To Heaven, and new music from Seinabo Sey.

Hello, it’s 25. This is Adele’s new album four years on from her previous and her latest single soared in the charts. With a note-perfect performance at the NRJ awards going viral along with her video for ‘Hello’, there is no doubt the album will get a similar reaction. Out Via XL.

Irish musician, Enya, is set to release Dark Sky Island. A vinyl addition has been made available and this will be the first since The Celts in 1992. Enya has described her album as having a theme of journeys and the album name was inspired by the Irish island Sark. Out Via Warner Music.

Australia’s X Factor winner from 2012, Samantha Jade, is releasing her second album Nine. Having supported One Direction earlier this year, the pop singer could get bigger and bigger, especially in the UK. She already released the song ‘Shake That’ with Pitbull this year and is set to star in Home & Away in 2016. Out Via Sony Music Australia.

‘No Reptiles’ is the latest track to spill from Everything Everything’s Get To Heaven. With lyrics about being a fat kid in a pushchair and being old enough to hold a gun, the track combines politics with melodies and a racing beat in a way that only Everything Everything can. Why weren’t they nominated for the Mercury Prize, again? Out via Sony.

Seinabo Sey returns this week with ‘Hard Times’. The track combines her soulful voices with staccato clapping and an enticing, overwhelming beat. It follows debut single ‘Younger’, taken from her debut album Pretend released last month. Out via Universal.


About Author

Wessex Scene Editor 2016-17, History Student, avid writer and music geek.

Third year English student, Records Editor, list maker and lover of Kinder Buenos.

Leave A Reply