New Charli XCX track premieres


MTV has premiered the new Charli XCX track, ‘Boom Clap’, and it’s a gem. The track is due to appear in the upcoming romantic comedy The Fault In Our Stars, which is to be released on 6th June.

Charli XCX announced the track by tweeting a quote from the film, and then the link to where the track was premiering on MTV.

It’s a very different sound to her current collaboration with Iggy Azalea, ‘Fancy’, sounding a lot more like Charli’s major label debut last year, True RomanceThe synthesised beats and sing-a-long chorus will fit perfectly in the film, with lyrics like “Boom, clap, the sound of my heart / The beat goes on and on and on and on and on” that feel relatable to the teenage elements of the film without being too childish or disney.

The Fault In Our Stars is an adaptation of the young adult novel by John Green, and features a cast including William Dafoe and rising star Shailene Woodley. The film’s soundtrack will also feature tracks by Birdy, Lykke Li and GROUPLOVE. The soundtrack was due to be announced on Saturday 12th April, but several artists have come forward on Twitter revealing themselves with the hashtag ‘#TFIOSmusic’.


About Author

Snack queen and entertainment journalist. Records Editor 2014-2015 & News Editor 2013-2014 for The Edge.

Leave A Reply