BAFTA Game Awards 2021: The Winners


On Thursday 25th March 2021, the 17th BAFTA Games Awards were held; honouring the best games released in 2020, this was the largest Games Award event held since the Game Awards in December 2020.

This was also the first ceremony that did not have Dara O’briain hosting the main show, with Elle Osili-Wood stepping up to the plate for the virtual event. Like last year, the event was held online, but as a livestream as opposed to a pre-recorded event, which saw tens of thousands of people watching across Twitch and YouTube.

Nominations were announced on March 2nd 2021, with The Last of Us: Part II leading the way with 13 nominations across categories including Performer in a Leading Role (which was ultimately won by Abby’s actress Laura Bailey) and the audience voted Game of the Year.

However, the big award of the night: Best Game, went to Hades, the rogue-lite title from Supergiant Games. Hades was also the title to pick up the most awards that evening with an impressive haul of five.

The list of winners for each category is as follows:

  • Best Game: Hades
  • Animation: The Last of Us: Part II
  • Artistic Achievement: Hades
  • Audio Achievement: Ghosts of Tsushima
  • British Game: Sackboy: A Big Adventure 
  • Debut Game: Carrion
  • Evolving Game: Sea of Thieves
  • Family: Sackboy: A Big Adventure
  • Game Beyond Entertainment: Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Game Design: Hades
  • Multiplayer: Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Music: Spider-Man: Miles Morales
  • Narrative: Hades
  • Original PropertyKentucky Route Zero
  • Performer in a Leading Role: Laura Bailey (Abbey) in The Last of Us: Part II
  • Performer in a Supporting Role: Logan Cunningham (Hades et al.) in Hades
  • Technical Achievement: Dreams
  • EE Game of The Year: The Last of Us: Part II

Watch the event below: 


About Author

Archaeology student and two-time Culture Editor. Will unashamedly rant about Assassin's Creed lore if given the opportunity.

1 Comment

Leave A Reply